Friday, August 15, 2008

13 Zodiacal Counstellations

I just now know that there are actually 13 zodiac constellations. Ophiuchus is added in. It is not the latest news, but already dated. But I still want to share with those who do not know it. Modern constellation boundaries were established around 1930, putting part of the ecliptic in Ophiuchus. The astrologers insist on 12 counstellations, because the concept of the astrological zodiac is to divide the ecliptic into twelve equal segments. These signs are named after the constellations they aligned with in the time of Ptolemy, who invented "modern" astrology about 1850 years ago, but really have nothing to do with the constellations. Since Ptolemy, precession of the equinoxes has shifted the alignment by about 25 degrees.

No comments: